Noguchi Table: Furniture or Art?

I was looking for a sculpture for my living room one day. I knew I wanted something modern and abstract, but not ostentatious. I began my search at a local auction house and places that sold vintage, modern sculptures. Most of the sculptures I saw could be placed on a pedestal or a table, and that was fine. Or so I thought. I saw many modern sculptures that had abstract Picasso like themes in them, and I liked them all. So as I narrowed down my selection, I began to think. Wait…Why don’t I just find a piece of furniture that could give me the sculptural look I want to go in my living room. An idea came to mind instantly. Find a sculptural coffee table. There is no coffee table that fits that description like a Isamu Noguchi Coffee Table. Needless to say, I’ve had this beautiful table as part of my decor for years now. It’s amazing and timeless. It’s art that disguises itself as furniture, or the other way around.  First released by Herman Miller in 1948, the famed Noguchi Table may look like it’s from an alien world, but it was actually designed by a man named Isamu Noguchi, the son of a Japanese poet and an American writer. Noguchi was an influential sculptor who channeled his fascination with surrealism and zen gardens into beautiful furniture designs. The Noguchi Coffee Table, with its organic, physics-defying shape, is probably his most iconic design. noguchi coffee table

Find the Noguchi Coffee Table and more at DesigndistrictModern.com 1866 289 6998

 

 

About Designdistrict

Save up to 70% on Mid Century & Modern Furniture. Discover why Designdistrict is the #1 source for designers and style experts like you. Discounts every day when you shop at DesigndistrictModern.com.
This entry was posted in Isamu Noguchi, Mid Century Modern Coffee Tables, Mid Century Modern Decor, Mid Century Modern Furniture, Modern Classic Furniture, modern coffee tables, Modern Homes, Noguchi Coffee Table and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment